The National Collegiate Athletic Association, (NCAA), permits each Div. I Ice Hockey program eighteen scholarships for women and eighteen for men. The same ratio applies in Div. II.

There are sixty Div. I and six Div. II colleges that grant hockey scholarships for men. A total of 1,188. The total number of women’s scholarships available in the NCAA is 558 from thirty one institutions.

Canadian students should be aware that if you have played in Canadian Junior Leagues before your high school graduation year then you will lose one year of NCAA eligibility per year.

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) held a men’s national ice hockey championship from 1968 to 1984. The sport was subsequently dropped as a NAIA sanctioned sport.

Junior College Ice Hockey is a Div. I only sport and the NJCAA allows sixteen ice hockey scholarships per school.

Each college can only offer a total of sixteen scholarships, unlike the NCAA they cannot offer a larger number at a lower percentage.

Ice Hockey at JUCO level has been dominated by the University of New York, Canton, (SUNY Canton), which has won an unprecedented fourteen National Championships.