The first National Collegiate Athletic Association Soccer Championship was held in 1959 and comprises only eight teams. A few years later this was expanded to sixteen teams in 4 regional playoffs with the winners of each region playing off for the championship.

The National Collegiate championship now consists of thirty two teams. Eleven major conference champions qualify automatically, and the champions of ten other conferences play off for 5 more qualifying positions. Sixteen other teams are at-large selections.

The National Collegiate Athletic Association allows every Div. I soccer program 12 scholarships for Women and 9.9 for Men. In Div. II the ratio is 9.9 scholarships for women and 9 for men.

NCAA Soccer is classed as a “equivalency sport” which simply means that coaches can “share” their allocation between a larger number of soccer players.

College Women’s soccer is one of the fastest growing college sports mainly due to the application of TITLE IX so there are many more opportunities out there for women soccer players.

There are 235 Men’s Soccer programs and 206 Women’s programs at NAIA colleges.

JUCO Soccer is played at division 1 and 3 level for both men and women but sports scholarships are only offered for division 1.

The NJCAA allows 18 scholarships per school. That’s 18 for men as well as 18 for women. These are full-ride but individual schools can offer partial grants in aid. Top players tend to receive the best offers. There are 112 division 1 college’s that offer soccer scholarships for men. For women’s soccer there are 99 division 1 colleges. Each school can only offer 18 scholarships in total, unlike the NCAA they cannot offer a larger number of at a lower percentage