The National Collegiate Athletic Association, ( NCAA ), and the United States Lawn Tennis Association, (USLTA), were co sponsors of the college tennis championship between 1938 to 1940. The NCAA took over the running of the intercollegiate tennis championship in 1941. Only singles and doubles championships took place and the team championship was incorporated in 1946.

College women’s tennis is classified as a “head Count” sport by the NCAA which means that the scholarships on offer are “full-ride scholarships”. On the other hand men’s tennis is classified as an equivalency sport which means that the tennis coach can divide the scholarship quota between a larger number of players.

Men’s Tennis NCAA:

Division I 4.5 scholarships per college
Division II 4.5 scholarships per college

Women’s Tennis NCAA:

Division I 8 scholarships per college
Division II 6 scholarships per college

At many schools, tennis is also a club sport, organized by students independently of the athletics department. Club teams even coexist with varsity teams at a lot of colleges.

JUCO Or junior college tennis is played At Division I and III levels for both women and men. Athletic scholarships are only granted to tennis players in division 1.

The National Junior College Athletic Association, (NJCAA), grants eight scholarships per school. These are full-ride scholarships but each individual school can and do offer partial scholarships.

Each school can only offer a total of eight scholarships unlike NCAA colleges that can offer a greater number of at a lower percentage.